Forums/Help
Contact Us

StrokeIt

What is in pro version?

Posted by David 
David
What is in pro version?
April 05, 2010 05:53PM
I can't find a page explaining the difference between home and professional versions. Am I blind? :-)
Re: What is in pro version?
April 05, 2010 10:39PM
I haven't been able to find a summary of the differences either. I am using the pro version at the moment, but I am not sure what the differences are; all I know is that the pro version support Lua scripting and the non-pro version does not, though I don't understand Lua myself. I wish there were some useful Lua scripts available on this site. Perhaps Jeff himself can tell you the exact differences.
April 06, 2010 01:48AM
There is a few at http://www.tcbmi.com/strokeit/forum/read.php?5,54592 and you can find some discussions about Lua in the plugin development section. I'm not a Lua expert but willing to help if you describe your task.

Besides Lua support there are two mouse functions that are not present in the free version. They can be used to move the cursor and send mouseclicks to applications. That's something that can be done with free version too, but in an extremely inconvenient and cumbersome way, because you have to gather some information that is different for each and every application. The pro version makes this much easier. I do not use these functions at all. But Lua is worth it.
David
April 06, 2010 03:54PM
I have read about scripts in the FAQ, that was certainly Lua.
OK thanks. I'm satisfied enough with the Home version, but that may be a way to thank Jeff for this soft I use for years!
April 06, 2010 10:35PM
Thank you for that link, gemisigo! Currently I am using Autohotkey for my scripting needs... but there is one thing I haven't been able to achieve: a way to instantly view the desktop.
- Minimize all is much too slow (I'm on XP)
- Minimizing all windows through Messages screws up my computer