Contact Us

StrokeIt

strokeit application identifier bug ?

Posted by avi 
avi
strokeit application identifier bug ?
October 09, 2004 04:27AM
Hi
I've been using strokeit for about 6 months now and it was working without any problem.
about a month ago it started doing other application's gestures inside the application I was working in...

For example : in myie (web browser) i disabled strokeit in the strokeit config box but for some reason it's sometimes springs into action ...

when I check the filename with the application finder , it shows acrord32.exe (acrobat reader) instead of myie.exe , and so it is with all the other programs currently running (totalcmd.exe sometimes says it is myie.exe and so on)..

anyone knows why this happens ?
Jordan
Re: strokeit application identifier bug ?
October 09, 2004 10:14AM
Don't know why this happens.
But i can assure you that it does occurs on some MDI applications.
Jeff
October 09, 2004 10:27AM
It does that when you're viewing a webpage with a PDF - acrord32.exe is the Adobe Acrobat Reader. Instead of using the IE window to show the PDF, Acrobat Reader actually runs itself as a borderless window and just hovers on top of the IE browser window, so when you perform a gesture over the page, you're really performing a gesture on the Acrobat Reader program.

-- Jeff
Rob
October 13, 2004 05:57AM
I have noticed that just occasionally MS Word does the wrong things when drawing strokes.
when I check the filename with the application finder, it then shows iexplore.exe rather than msword.exe.
avi
October 14, 2004 01:00AM
Thank you all for the replies

Jeff : I've disabled the acrobat reader web view, and also made sure no tab on myie was loading a pdf file , and it still does the same problem ... It also happens on other mdi applications Like Rob said - word is good example...

in the meantime the only solution I've found is to reopen strokeit after the mdi app has run , but that is kind of a drag...
Rob
October 14, 2004 08:50AM