Forums/Help
Contact Us

StrokeIt

StrokeIt Win7 64-bit "Process Stopped Working"

Posted by Manick 
Manick
StrokeIt Win7 64-bit "Process Stopped Working"
October 27, 2009 06:39PM
I'm using the retail final version of Win7 Pro 64-bit. Sometimes (a few times a day), when I'm using gestures, I will get a message that the program has stopped working. Then, I cannot click on anything (not even the button to close StrokeIt on the dialog). All I can do is Ctrl-Alt-Delete. When I start task manager, it starts but is frozen and I cannot end the strokeit or explorer process. When I hit Ctrl-Alt-Delete again, I can hit the Log-off button, and my Windows session will log off, and I can log back in with everything responding again. This is a burden as it can cause me to lose work.

I've been using StrokeIt personal for many years, and hope to continue using it in the future.

Thanks,
M
Manick
Re: StrokeIt Win7 64-bit "Process Stopped Working"
October 27, 2009 06:45PM
I found some information in the Windows Event Log:

Faulting application name: strokeit.exe, version: 0.9.6.0, time stamp: 0x4a37db8e
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb3b
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0003317f
Faulting process id: 0x414
Faulting application start time: 0x01ca55f8fb43dbd3
Faulting application path: C:\Users\Manick\AppData\Local\TCB Networks\StrokeIt\Bin\strokeit.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
October 27, 2009 07:35PM
Hi, Manick,

Thanks for the feedback. I think you should try the .9.7 beta posted in the General forum. It's quite stable and I've fixed a number of bugs due to the crash reports that testers have sent in.

If the beta is still crashing for you, send me any crash reports in the %APPDATA%\TCB Networks\StrokeIt\CrashRpt folder. My email address is in the about box.

-- Jeff
Manick
November 01, 2009 04:20PM
Thanks jeff, that seems to have fixed the problem.